my work

I Know What Happens to a Dream Deferred

I used to be so afraid to share my writing. So I have had private journals to myself my whole life. But lately I’ve been feeling more brave to share with the world what I love to do; to write. I’m in love with words, and what they can mean, how they can make you feel, etc. I’m a sucker for a well-written poem, prose, article, essay, hell…even a tweet. My love affair with words is one I can no longer keep to myself!

Months ago, I wrote what I interpret to occur when a dream is deferred. This is what I believe happens to the creative/ innovative/ passionate soul that doesn’t get to fulfill it’s dream:

“What happens to a dream deferred?

Does it dry up

Like a raisin in the sun?”

‘A Dream Deferred’ by Langston Hughes

What happens to the creative mind that craves some sort of release…

Yet, the only thing holding her back is…herself?

Words, visions, and ideas float in her cranium until she feels full but never does she allow herself to let it out. To express herself.

So what happens to the soul that can never truly achieve peace because it’s afraid?

What happens to the coward that has the ability to create but simply chooses not to? Does the dream truly dry up in the sun, like Mr. Langston Hughes suggested?

I need to know the answer because the guilt, the shame, the pent up emotions are driving me insane. What happens when she has a hard time betting on herself and can’t possibly expect others to bet on her too?

I suppose nothing. The world goes unchanged, never getting a chance to experience her art.

But the dream doesn’t dry up…it stays there, in her head, in her heart, gnawing at her until she goes mad…which will be when it’s too big to ignore.

It’s too big to ignore. Here you go world…

-SKG

Standard

2 thoughts on “I Know What Happens to a Dream Deferred

  1. WOW! I love this! check my blog and tell me what you think! I am only writing about the corruption at the moment, but will begin to put together MY vision for what education CAN be soon. have to get rid of the trash before you clean up and a second trip to the trash later. I think that people that dont like children and are mean do NOT need to be in education. I dont mean someone short tempered….but MEAN! you know the teachers I speak of…we have all HAD one! will be reading a lot more…and yes it was your writing that I remembered!

    • Thanks for checking out my blog! Greatly appreciate it and glad you like it. I will check out yours. I do agree, mean people who have no interest in children shouldn’t be in charge of educating them. People who care of their well-being and learning should be the ONLY candidates as a teacher!

Leave a Reply

