my life

Birthday Blues: My Thoughts on 26

I am getting closer to 26. My birthday is in 12 days actually and I still can’t believe it.

26 sounds so ‘old’ to me. Maybe the word isn’t old but instead ‘mature.’ I’m becoming a mature adult. Yet, I don’t feel like I have reached that stage yet. For instance, I thought my wardrobe would incorporate more of cute, mature blouses and cocktail dresses. Also, I thought I would finally get used to the idea of wearing heels with every outfit, because …you know, that’s what adult women do. Yet, I’m turning 26 in less than 2 weeks and my closet could still be mistaken for a 20 year old and I HATE wearing heels. That’s my mistake, I should’ve been more on top of the clothes situation.

Still, when I was younger I envisioned my life at 26 a whole lot different than what it is now. I was not aware that I would still be struggling with self-identity. Or that picking a career path can be so scary and exhausting. I wasn’t aware of the fact that my Bachelor’s degree would be semi-worthless and about as useful as a gold star sticker. Or like the stickers in grade school with the scents. Remember those? My favorite one was the chocolate scent, which makes sense since I’ve had a chubby waist all my life. Anyways, that’s another topic for another day.

All I am saying is that I am still coming to grips with the fact that I am heading into the greater part of my twenties. And it’s scary. And I don’t know if I’m prepared. Because the only thing I am certain of is my uncertainty. I guess that’s what makes life so interesting, the mystery of it all.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Birthday Blues: My Thoughts on 26

  1. I just went through this phase recently! Turning 23 was like something happening so soon. And yeah nothing like the scenario i have created in my mind earlier. But i guess thats how life is- unpredictable, full of surprises and new challenges everyday! 🙂 Happy 26th birthday in advance!:)

Leave a Reply

